LENS Colloquium and BrightnESS² General Assembly


BrightnESS² is funded by Horizon 2020 for a three-year period. It aims to strengthen the European landscape of neutron sources, ensure the long-term sustainability of ESS, and support the European neutron scattering community. 

These three high-level goals for BrightnESS² are aligned with the objectives of the League of advanced European Neutron Sources, LENS, which receives support from BrightnESS². The LENS consortium is in part working to position the neutron community in Europe to compete for funding projects within the European Commission’s upcoming 9th Framework Programme, Horizon Europe. 

We are pleased to announce that we have therefore dedicated the first afternoon of the February meeting to speakers from LENS, the neutron science user community and the European Commission.





The venues hosting the events and the restaurant for the networking dinner are all in rather close proximity of the Frère-Orbansquare in Brussels.

We have furthermore seized the opportunity to reserve 30 rooms at the Martin’s Hotel, available for you to book. The Martin's Hotel is also the location of the BrightnESS2 General Assembly on the 12th of February.

The rooms will be available for you to book until the 10th of January 2020.

Kindly see below the booking link:


  • Tuesday, 11 February
    • 15:00 15:30
      Arrival of guests / Refreshments 30m
    • 15:30 15:40
      Welcome 10m
      Speaker: John Womersley (Director General, ESS)
    • 15:40 15:50
      Greetings from LEAPS, a Partner Alliance 10m
      Speaker: Caterina Biscari (Chair of LEAPS; Director, ALBA Synchrotron)
    • 15:50 16:05
      Horizon Europe 15m
      Speaker: Anna Panagopoulou (Acting Director Research and Innovation Outreach)
    • 16:05 16:20
      Research Using Neutrons: from Quantum Computers via Cell Membranes to Cancer Treatment 15m
      Speaker: Helmut Schober (Director, ILL; Chair of LENS)
    • 16:20 16:35
      The Game Changer for Energy Storage: BATTERY 2030+ 15m
      Speaker: Kristina Edström (Project Coordinator, Battery 2030+ (proposed/tdc))
    • 16:35 16:50
      Neutrons and Human Health: from Anticancer Drugs to Bone Analysis 15m
      Speaker: Maria Paula M. Marques (Molecular Physical-Chemistry R&D Group, Universidade de Coimbra, recipient of 2019 ISIS Neutron & Muon Source Society Impact Award)
    • 16:50 17:05
      Neutron Scattering for Sustainable Food Production 15m
      Speaker: Wim Bouwman (TU Delft)
    • 17:05 18:00
      Panel Discussion: Mission-based research 55m

      Adam Tyson, Head of Research and Industrial Infrastructures at DG Research and Innovation, European Commission

      All speakers

      Speaker: Adam Tyson (Head of Research and Industrial Infrastructures at DG Research and Innovation, European Commission)
    • 18:00 18:15
      Photo Opportunity 15m

      All LENS directors & DG RTD representatives

    • 18:15 19:00
      Reception 45m Hotel Sofitel Brussels Europe

      Hotel Sofitel Brussels Europe

      Place Jourdan 1, 1040 Brussels
    • 19:00 22:00
      Dinner 3h Hotel Sofitel Brussels Europe

      Hotel Sofitel Brussels Europe

      Place Jourdan 1, 1040 Brussels
  • Wednesday, 12 February
    • 08:45 09:10
      Registration 25m
    • 09:10 09:20
      Welcome and Opening of BrightnESS2 General Assembly and 2nd Annual Meeting 10m
      Speaker: Ute Gunsenheimer (BrightnESS2 Project Coordinator, ESS)
    • 09:20 09:40
      Moving Towards First Science: Update on ESS 20m
      Speaker: John Womersley (Director General, ESS)
    • 09:40 10:00
      Introducing Project Officer BrightnESS² 20m
      Speaker: René Martins (BrightnESS2 Project Officer, EC)
    • 10:00 10:20
      WP 1: Project Coordination 20m
      Speaker: Margaret Armstrong (BrightnESS2 Project Manager, ESS)
    • 10:20 10:30
      BrightnESS2 Publication Strategy 10m
      Speaker: Ute Gunsenheimer (BrightnESS2 Project Coordinator, ESS)
    • 10:30 11:15
      WP 2: A Strategy to Deliver Neutrons for Europe and Beyond 45m
      Speakers: Andreas Schreyer (Director for Science, ESS), Lambert van Eijck (Asst. Professor, Faculty of Applied Sciences, TU-Delft; Vice Chair, ENSA), Mark Johnson (Associate Director and Head of Science Division, ILL)
    • 11:15 11:45
      Coffee Break 30m
    • 11:45 12:05
      WP 3: In-Kind Contribution Management 20m
      Speaker: Mauro Zambelli (In-Kind Group Leader, ESS)
    • 12:05 12:25
      WP 4: Innovation and Industry 20m
      Speakers: Sharon Cosgrove (Associate Director for Strategy, ESS ), Jimmy Binderup Andersen (Senior Officer, ESS)
    • 12:25 12:45
      WP 5: International Outreach and Dissemination for Impact 20m
      Speakers: Ute Gunsenheimer (Head of External Relations and EU Projects, ESS ), Jason Li-Ying (Professor, Centre for Technology Entrepreneurship, DTU)
    • 12:45 13:00
      Q & A of GA, Joint GA Decision Meeting 15m
    • 13:00 14:00
      End of BrightnESS2 GA and joint lunch 1h
    • 14:00 16:00
      Time for WP meetings etc. 2h
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now