The main objective of this advanced school is to train researchers in biology, biophysics, pharmacology, soft matter for health, etc. to the use of X-ray (XR) and neutron scattering structural techniques (crystallography, small-angle scattering, reflectometry), ranging from experiments to complete and in-depth analysis of the data, based on mathematical and modeling approaches (e.g. analytical fits, ab initio modeling, artificial intelligence, Bayesian and multimodal methods). The complementarity of these scattering techniques with other structural biology methods, such as NMR, will be considered as well.

Another objective of FASEM is to promote the use of XR and neutron large-scale facilities, which are not yet currently used in biology. The new European neutron source (ESS) in Lund, to be commissioned in 2025, and the 4th generation synchrotrons will lead to a significant breakthrough in scattering techniques, opening particularly interesting perspectives for structural biology. FASEM will take place in Lund in order to encourage French and Swedish researchers to explore the new possibilities offered by these resources.

Therefore, the school will propose lectures (theory, hands-on, applications, highlights), discussion sessions, and visits to the MAX-IV and ESS, respectively XR and neutron sources in Lund.

Registration fees (which include courses, accommodation, and lunches) are reduced (100 €) and grants can be requested for transport costs, particularly for participants outside Sweden. Registration and transport costs for CNRS staff are fully covered.

Priority will be given to French and Swedish laboratories but the school is also open to participants from other countries depending on places available (30 maximum).


Confirmed teachers and visit:

  • Justin Bergmann (ESS, Sweden)
  • Zoë Fisher (ESS, Sweden)
  • Giovanna Fragneto (ESS, Sweden)
  • Frank Gabel, (IBS, France)
  • Sergei  Grudinin (LJK CNRS, France)
  • Judith Houston (ESS, Sweden)
  • Alexandros Koutsioumpas (MLZ, Germany)
  • Andreas Haahr Larsen (KU, Denmark)
  • Marie Lycksell (ILL, France)
  • Anne Martel (ILL, France)
  • Andrew McCluskey (Univ. Bristol, UK)
  • Esko Oksanen (LU, Sweden)
  • Javier Pérez (SOLEIL, France)
  • Sindra Petersson Årsköld (ESS, Sweden)
  • Wojciech Potrzebowski (ESS, Sweden)
  • William Shepard (Soleil, France)
  • Mark Tully (ESRF, France)
  • Heidi LaGrasta (MAXIV, Sweden)
Your browser is out of date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now